Goodbye Florence or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb

Well, my time in Florence is rapidly coming to an end and to make things extra interesting, we haven’t found an apartment yet in Rome! Because of various unforeseen circumstances we’re as yet homeless, but thankfully there are lots and lots of bridges in the city that we can probably live under. What it really will amount to will be a few days in a hotel while we dedicatedly hunt and hunt in the city itself, which should be easier than trying to do it from Florence.

“A thing of beauty is a joy forever: its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness….” -Keats (Endymion)

While my mind is pretty irredeemably focused (read: worrying) on finding somewhere to live in Rome, I do have a few concluding thoughts on Florence. In short: it’s lovely. Pretty. Manageable. Easy. Full of tourists. Complicated by its own relationship to its history. Almost too quiet. The perfect place for someone to go if they’ve never been to Italy before. I would live in Florence again, but in a different neighborhood and after dying my hair dark. However, now it’s time to move on:

some street artist’s been reading my mind…

Ruins and Relics might not be back on Monday– depending on my living situation I might not be able to post until later next week, but I look forward to sharing my Roman adventures with you:

on a completely different street in a completely different neighborhood, but just right for me. Ruins and Relics in Rome… to be continued….
4 thoughts on “Goodbye Florence or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb

  1. Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

