The most essential thing for Homemade Pasta

Special weekend-post number two! Recently, I successfully made homemade pasta; it was only my second time, my first being an unmitigated disaster. I don’t know if it was the Rome air with all its traffic noise wafting in through my balcony doors that made it work this time, but I’ll take it! I made fettuccine, and honestly, it really wasn’t all that complicated. Now, I’m not going to tell you how to do it, because there are about 90,000 (and counting!) blogs that have already done that including here, which is more-or-less the process I followed. But I am going to let you in on a secret: you can still make homemade pasta if you don’t have a pasta-making machine, all you need is a rolling pin, which is the absolute most crucial element in the entire process.

necessary equipment

I didn’t have a rolling pin the other night, and so I used a cylindrical drinking glass. While I managed to get the pasta generally uniform in thickness, once it was cooked the parts that were not uniform were so obvious, and so much chewier in the thicker bits, that it definitely detracted from my overall success. Clearly, uniformity is everything. I was pretty willy-nilly with my proportions of flour to egg (and if you look at different recipes they all suggest different proportions), and I even switched-up the boiling time the two times I cooked it, so clearly the most important thing is pasta uniformity. Not so hard to achieve with a pasta machine, but a bit tricky when you’re rolling out the dough with a glass. So this morning, despite the cruddy weather, the three types of public transit involved, and the crowds and crowds and crowds of people, I ventured over to Porta Portese, the huge Sundays-only market in Trastevere and bought that beauty that you see up there. Here’s to more homemade pasta (of regular uniformity!) and a buon domenica!

Leave a Reply

