Objet d’art 20– the water at the Villa d’Este

Enjoy these photos of the spectacular fountains at the Villa d’Este without much commentary from me:

I did get a bit damp taking this one
I did get a bit damp taking this one
on the nature-mastering axis of the villa
on the nature-mastering axis of the villa
my poorly chosen (for tramping around outside) shoes got wet here
my poorly chosen (for tramping around outside) shoes got wet here
ditto
ditto
the water was cooooold
the water was cooooold
as one of my profs would say: "if you control water, you control Rome." Any guesses what sort of message the d'Este were sending?
as one of my profs would say: “if you control water, you control Rome.”                                            Any guesses at the message the d’Este were sending?
2 thoughts on “Objet d’art 20– the water at the Villa d’Este

  1. Tivoli was a day trip we planned but there was an Italian announcement on our train and somehow we ended up in Orvieto. Amazing little village though, so we went with it. YOLO. We were a little stressed about not having the right train tickets. 130kms on a metro pass may have bought us a hefty fine. But we got away with it 🙂

    1. I’ve been travelling a lot myself lately, and I’ve been lucky on a few streeetched train rides recently too. Glad you enjoyed Orvieto– it is beautiful! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

