Alice Pasquini is my Hero

I like street art. I even like graffiti. I would (and have) argued that the dirty, graffiti covered “B” trains are awesome and that graffiti that is more sophisticated than a simple one-color tag adds to a city rather than detracts. In this thinking I was profoundly affected by a tour through Eastern Europe that I took in my late-teens. Bratislava is covered in graffiti and our guide told us that after the long oppression of communism, graffiti was celebrated as an expression of freedom. I know in non-former-communist countries there are a lot of arguments against graffiti and that it can be indicative of a restless, disaffected and/or prone to violence youth, but it can also be capital-A Art. Rome is full of both kinds, so I’m definitely in the right place, especially to appreciate the rock star artist Alice Pasquini. So far I’ve found two of Alice’s paintings in the wild:

this was taken at night, that's why it's so red
this was taken at night, that’s why it’s so red
I nearly walked right by this, then did a comical-movie-style double-take
I nearly walked right by this, then did a comical-movie-style double-take

Must. Find. More.

I was also recently at the American Embassy where she was having a solo show in one of the exhibition rooms. Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance (shockingly, you’re not allowed to wander around the embassy at will) to really look at the paintings there, but one of my new goals is to see as many of Alice’s paintings as I can. For those of you in the NYC area I understand she just finished a mural in Bushwick, so you should go check it out!

One thought on “Alice Pasquini is my Hero

Leave a Reply

