Paestum: Go Big or Go Home

Living in Italy can be hard.* When everything is great and beautiful and delicious those words (and ones like ‘awesome’ and ‘amazing’) begin to lose their meaning. You genuinely start to wonder if there is a top to how ridiculous Italy can be. But I might have found it in Paestum. The minute, but lovely town and the unreal temples/archeological complex are so superlative that I don’t know what beats them.

Behold:

the obscenely charming view from my hotel room
the obscenely charming view from my hotel room

But you don’t go to Paestum for the absurdly pastoral views, the rooster that cock-a-doodle-dos in the morning, the soft lowing of cows, and the smell of honeysuckle and jasmine in the air. No! You go to Paestum for Greek stuff! and, as it turns out, the ruins of a Roman town!

Behold some more!:

temple and roses. nbd.
temple and roses. nbd.
another temple. whoa.
another temple. whoa.
and the third temples. holy crap.
and the third temple. holy crap.
the second and third temples are right next to each other. I've passed out from the coolness.
the second and third temples are right next to each other. I’ve passed out from the coolness.

And just in case the remnants of three huge, pretty-well intact temples doesn’t do it for you, there are also tons of lizards there, which are pretty awesome too:

because I am an awesome photographer the rock is in-focus instead of the lizard. oh well.
because I am an awesome photographer the rock is in-focus instead of the lizard. oh well.
I generally keep things pretty impersonal on this blog, but for scale: you can see me and my mom in the lower left corner. Those temples were HUGE.
I generally keep things pretty impersonal on this blog, but for scale: you can see me and my mom in the lower left corner. Those temples were HUGE.

*obviously I’m being facetious here. Living in Italy can be hard when you’ve been waiting for the damn bus for an hour, but being able to travel around and see gorgeous things is the absolute best ever.

2 thoughts on “Paestum: Go Big or Go Home

Leave a Reply

