Bravely going where no man has gone before: the Italo train

an Italo virgin no more!
an Italo virgin no more!

I’ve ridden hundreds of trains in this country, but a few weeks ago was my first experience with the new(ish, kinda) Italo trains. We took the Italo from Florence to Venice and it was nice. Mostly. I don’t know if I’m an Italo convert, but if the price were lower I would definitely go for Italo. I think.

shiny!
shiny!

My indecision is mostly based on the fact that the Italo trains are pretty much the same as the Trenitalia Freccia ones. They take about the same amount of time, cost mostly the same, and go pretty much the same places. So… not much of a difference. The food options on the Freccia are better and the windows are bigger. The Italo train, though the interior was distinctly nicer than the Freccia, felt more like an airplane and since I don’t like flying, that’s not particularly cool. Future trips will almost certainly come down to price for which company I would choose. However, I’m glad that Trenitalia has some competition now and I’ve already booked my next Italo journey: down to Naples en route to the Amalfi Coast in a few weeks… but THIS Italo train was whisking us away to the sun and rain of Venice….

our carrozza, with my dad pretty perfectly reflected in the window
our carrozza, with my dad (and my right arm!) pretty perfectly reflected in the window
Leave a Reply

