Staring at the Ground in Rome, once more with Feelling!

IMG_9682

Everyday I watched for the stolpersteine, or stumbling blocks (which, I have written about here, and here), and I would be both exhilarated and saddened every time I saw them in Rome. While I have wandered through the Ghetto neighborhood many times, it wasn’t an area that I regularly visited, so when I had a guest and decided to show them the charming neighborhood, I was dumbstruck by the number of stumbling blocks there. I shouldn’t have been surprised, of course there would be lots of them there. But it’s still a shock. To think of what they mean and each signify.

IMG_9681

IMG_9683

IMG_9684

Per wikipedia there are 84 stolpersteine in Rome. Based on my photos I have found somewhere around 30 or so. I would like to see them all.

 

One thought on “Staring at the Ground in Rome, once more with Feelling!

Leave a Reply

