A Year Out, Reflecting Back on the 5 Things I Miss the Most about Italy

IMG_0989

We interrupt these Croatian reminiscences to bring you a special announcement: It’s been exactly one year since I packed up, tripped down the stairs of my palazzo and headed to Fiumicino to leave my beloved Italy and come back to the States. I have mixed feelings about living here and I definitely have mixed feelings about living there, but to mark this first anniversary here are the 5 things I miss the most about living in Italy (to be shortly followed by the 5 things I miss the least!):

1. The light.

IMG_0550

2. The ease of travel, whether in-country or out.

IMG_8771

3. The damn-fine coffee and gelato around every corner.

IMG_1663

4. The layers of history and the deepness of the culture.

IMG_4316

5. The idea that beauty, poetry, art, music, and nice long vacations are a birthright to be celebrated.

IMG_1386_1

What do you miss about Italy?

2 thoughts on “A Year Out, Reflecting Back on the 5 Things I Miss the Most about Italy

  1. Gelato – sometimes 3 times a day! Tuscany – quaint medieval villages…Staues, fountains, cobblestones. Friendly Italians…Colours, walled cities with moats! Pizza! ARTICHOKES and arrancino!

Leave a Reply

