Good News!: No-longer Unemployed, Rome STILL Pretty

When I wrote this post a few weeks ago (actually a month, HOLY CRAP), I was circling the drain in terms of unemployed bummer-hood. BUT! I am freshly employed, with a start date on the horizon and visions of how I’m going to use this exciting new thing called vacation time. In grad school while there were breaks (of the winter, spring, and summer varieties), there was never really a point when I took a thing called a vacation, because when you’re an academic, you’re always working. Trips are perpetually for research and it might be 11pm on a Saturday, but regardless of what you’re doing, your brain is simmering over that stupid last chapter. But NOT ANYMORE. I have plans I tell you, plans!

IMG_1294_1
Papa Frank has a decent view

Once I can start using my vacation time I have visions of Greece (my BFF went there on her honeymoon with her now ex, and I’ve never been, so she needs a Greece re-do), Ireland and/or Scotland (ancestral homeland, here I come), and anywhere else I can manage. Since this is my first real job, I don’t really know how one decides when and how to use their vacation time, so tell me: How do I plan this stuff??

When it's time to party we will party hard
When it’s time to party we will party hard

Be excellent to each other and party on dudes!

8 thoughts on “Good News!: No-longer Unemployed, Rome STILL Pretty

  1. Haha great news! Greece – I love Greece! The people could give Italians a run for their money on warmth and kindness 🙂
    Scotland ahh, my grandparents are Scots so of course it was one of the 1st places I explored. Our firstborn was born in Edinburgh and now wears a Loch Ness monster tattoo on her back. I don’t like Tattoo’s but I do think that one of Nessie in a tartan beret is kinda cute 🙂
    Dreamboards – if you don’t have one, I suggest you get down to a travel agents, stock up on their free mags and give yourself the inspiration you’ll need when work takes over your life.
    I love making collages for the back of my toilet door. I can look at all the places I plan on visiting several times a day. 🙂

    1. Great idea! (And my mom feels the same way about my tats). If you have specific suggestions for Scotland I would LOVE them. I’ve dreamed of going there and to Ireland for forever (I went to England when I was 12, so I am sorely lacking on the UK), and I want to make it happen!

  2. Saw you liked my blog, so it probably doesn’t come to any surprise when I say DEFINITELY CHOOSE SCOTLAND!!! It’s just so amazing and that would be the perfect vacation.

    Glad you’re no longer unemployed. I’m just graduated so I’m in that bummer phase.

Leave a Reply

