The Unexpected Street Art in Istanbul

looking across to Galata Tower!
looking across to Galata Tower!

In Istanbul I wasn’t sure what to expect in regards to my ongoing global hunt for street art. But I found some! Perhaps not at all surprisingly, it wasn’t in Sultanhamet, but across the Golden Horn in Galata and Beyoğlu. We took more totally reasonable public transit up to Taksim Square, walked down İstiklal Caddesi, I bought a lovely little print and a book, which I promptly lost, we sat under Galata Tower, and appreciated the street scenes. It might’ve been the best thing we did in Istanbul.

Monument in Taksim Square. I can't believe they were considering bulldozing this area.
Monument in Taksim Square. I can’t believe they were considering bulldozing this area.
angry graffiti panda can't believe it either!
angry graffiti panda can’t believe it either!
neither can this bunny! I mean really.
neither can this bunny! I mean really.
Galata Tower, Istanbul
Galata Tower is seriously atmospheric
This awesome lady thinks so too
This awesome lady thinks so too
merde.
merde.
5 thoughts on “The Unexpected Street Art in Istanbul

Leave a Reply

