Istanbul in Silly Photos

It takes A LOT of garbage to make flower beds look nice
It takes A LOT of garbage to make flower beds look nice

I love the silly details that you notice while traveling. It’s in those details (is that you god?) that you really find a place. Istanbul was full of all the usual silliness. Enjoy the photos!

A book vending machine at the airport train station! It was then that I knew Istanbul was perfect.
A book vending machine at the airport train station! It was then that I knew Istanbul was perfect.
only 1377 km to Rome. Not too far.
only 1377 km to Rome. Not too far.
the goofy little water containers that came with the coffee. Oh the coffee.
the goofy little water containers that came with the coffee. Oh the coffee.
The symbol of the city that was everywhere
The symbol of the city that was everywhere
Turkish Delight, turns out it's really really good. The one on the left is pistachio and rose. SO GOOD
Turkish Delight, turns out it’s really really good. The one on the left is pistachio and rose. SO GOOD
The Blue Mosque all lit up. Looks like a fairy castle.
The Blue Mosque all lit up. Looks like a fairy castle.
14 thoughts on “Istanbul in Silly Photos

  1. I may be in a minority of one but I didn’t like Istanbul. The mackerel sandwich from one of the boats on the European side was fantastic, one of the simplest but best things I’ve ever eaten, the architecture is obviously spectacular, but I just didn’t enjoy it.

      1. I just didn’t find the city “welcoming” if that makes sense. I saw all the tourist things, as well as doing what I love to do, which is putting the map in my pocket and just walking all over the place, but I never found it “warm” like I have done with almost every other place I’ve been to.
        I stayed on the Asian side and travelled across to the European side every day, (was there 5 days) but apart from in the hotel (where they have to be nice) I just didn’t find the place hospitable.

      2. Rome, however, is the most beautiful, wonderful fantastic place on this earth (and I’ve been around a bit).I go at least once a year, usually twice, and fall in love with it all over again. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. Ristoro Degli Angeli is wonderful, only eaten there a couple of times but fantastic.

      3. Rome is the best. And sometimes the worst too. But I ALWAYS learn more (about me, about the city, about everything) when I’m there. Thanks for reading and commenting today, I love hearing people’s opinions about places (and especially restaurants! Ristoro degli Angeli is my HG restaurant).

Leave a Reply

