The National Park Service Rocks my Socks. Also: CAVES!

Crazy pretty colors! Good job cave.
Crazy pretty colors! Good job cave.
such a jaunty sign
such a jaunty sign

I have not thus far appreciated the glories of the National Park Service here in the ol’USA well enough. But let me tell you, those glories are bright and shining and well worth praise. Because not only is the US dotted with the spectacular National Parks (of which I will get into in-depth in a post or two), they’re also chock full of National Monuments, Historical Sights, Forests, Natural Landmarks, forever and ever amen (not to mention the State Parks system too. Embarrassment of riches!). There are SO MANY well cared for, well regulated parks, sights, and landmarks in this country, and they will almost ALWAYS have a cafe. That is how I like my nature: with easily accessible bathrooms and a cafe. But I digress. This prolegomenon (how’s that for the most ridiculously overblown word? It means intro) is all in service of the suggestion that those readers in the US who have a spare weekend afternoon (or whenever really) should look up the Park Service website for their state and find amazing, awe-inspiring places to visit like, for instance, the Cave of the Mounds. Within day-trip driving distance of Chicago, Milwaukee, and less than an hour from Madison, Wi, the Cave of the Mounds is gorgeous, well-kept, has a cafe and makes you appreciate geology. When was the last time you appreciated geology??

National Natural Landmarks for the win!
National Natural Landmarks for the win!
IMG_0726
quiet!
dark!
dark!
and drippy!
and drippy!

It also ignited my new-found love affair with caves. They’re quiet, dark, and drippy, three of my favorite things. It also does not hurt that rural Wisconsin is ridiculously pastoral, so the lovely setting with flowers and barn and all makes for a seriously pleasant afternoon. Officially a fan.

pleasant!
pleasant!
13 thoughts on “The National Park Service Rocks my Socks. Also: CAVES!

  1. last time I appreciated geology was when watching series 7 of big bang theory and sheldon fell asleep holding a geology book, sure you have no idea what I am on about, no matter, great post, made me laugh. Love the funky work, prolegamnon – but no it is spelled – prolegomenon – as you can tell I have never heard it before – I would guess it means (the way I spelled it) – a place where the proletariat get their game on 🙂 ….but I will now check the dictionary! happy weekend

  2. It’s nice to see that someone else loves the National Parks Service and caves as much as I do (and for the record, my boyfriend is a geologist, so I have to appreciate geology a lot more than I would find ideal, but I like caves anyway!). I’m really enjoying all your posts on the Midwest!

Leave a Reply

