Wind Cave: or why I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb.

Pretty!
Pretty!

My appreciation for caves has been documented here before. And, as you might recall, I prefer my nature with a side of clean bathrooms and a cafe. Luckily in western South Dakota there is lots of nature, most of which has decent bathrooms. One such place is Wind Cave, a deep, dark, cave that has pretty, pretty land above it.

Bathrooms and food. The most important part of any visit to the great outdoors.
Bathrooms and food. The most important part of any visit to the great outdoors.
Cave!
Cave!
Those nubby bits are aptly called "popcorn." Geology is COOL
Those nubby bits are aptly called “popcorn.” Geology is COOL

However, true facts: to start the cave tour (which had a truly exceptional guide– the guide really does make all the difference) we took an elevator 200-feet down, which may or may not have triggered a bit of claustrophobia and anxiety at the beginning. Not great. But when there’s boxwork (again with the appreciating geology, I mean when does that happen??) like in Wind Cave, it’s TOTALLY worth it! National Parks win again! Next time I’m going to make sure to see Jewel Cave too!

boxwork!
boxwork!
Pretty again!
Pretty again!
8 thoughts on “Wind Cave: or why I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb.

  1. Nice, I once crawled into a cave where the opening was so tight if you breathed in, your back touched the ceiling. Once inside, lovely little waterfall, rather running water falling into deeper cave. Fun, had to contend with a few bats too.

    1. It’s a good (but weirddddd) movie! The tour guide was SUPER into caves (he was a second-generation park ranger) and was really knowledgeable and you could tell he loved his job. It was great.

  2. Great title (although I’ve never made it through that movie)! Cool caves: my only cave experience thus far was at Cradles of the Moon (black, volcanic, very dirty).

    1. Thanks! It’s a weird but good movie, you have to be in the right mood I think! I love caves, I love how quiet they are! I’ve never heard of Craters of the Moon, I’ll have to look it up!

      1. It’s in Idaho. We stopped on our way from Yellowstone to Utah, a few years back. (Would make a great blog post topic, actually–I should make a mental note.) We drove past the Cradle of Forestry yesterday, which is probably why Cradle came up first. Yes, I should give that movie another try, if it comes on Turner Classics again.

Leave a Reply

