Buffalo Herds are ACTUALLY like Thunder: Custer State Park

buffaloes!
buffaloes!

National Parks are great, State Parks are great and herds of bison are INCREDIBLE. Custer State Park is one of the prettiest areas of the Black Hills in South Dakota and we were lucky enough–moments after entering the park–to see the bison herd. Really, watching a huge male buffalo wallowing in the dirt is crazy.

Custer! And yes, it is named after the "Last Stand" Custer, which is arguably a bit problematic.
Custer! And yes, it is named after the “Last Stand” Custer, which is arguably a bit problematic.
wallowing and baby buffalo! YES.
wallowing and baby buffalo! YES.
not a small herd.
not a small herd.
between the bison, the wildflowers, and the blue skies, I'm a bit overcome by the astonishing Americana over here.
between the bison, the wildflowers, and the blue skies, I’m a bit overcome by the astonishing Americana over here.
pretty little lakes don't hurt either.
pretty little lakes don’t hurt either.
17 thoughts on “Buffalo Herds are ACTUALLY like Thunder: Custer State Park

      1. yes – maybe some day there will be again herds of several thousand individuals… let’s see… but i guess a few hundred must be already great!! I was in Yellowstone NP as a kid and I really enjoyed to watch these giants…

  1. When I see the word ‘buffalo’ I think of the domesticated water buffalo I’ve seen in India, where they’re used to till the paddy fields. I wouldn’t want to try getting a harness on one of those bison things! By the way, I’m making my first journey to the Americas in a few weeks’ time – to Mexico (the USA will have to wait till I’ve saved some more money again).

Leave a Reply

