Museums in Rome: the warm-up, because there are a lot and I have a LOT of thoughts

angry eyes for Roman museums!
angry eyes for Roman museums!

I’ve saved museums in Rome for last in my museum review months of terror. Rome is my second home and I’ve been to a lot of the heaps there and I have lots of opinions so instead diving right in, I’m prefacing it all so that we can be orderly about all this.

As it should, Museum Month Rome will start with the Vatican in all its unholy glory, then will proceed with the following:

The Capitoline Museums

The National Museums (Palazzo Altemps; Palazzo Massimo alle Terme; Crypta Balbi, but not the Baths of Diocletian, because believe it or not I’ve never actually been inside!)

Castel Sant’Angelo

the Villa Borghese

the Villa Giulia (Etruscan stuff)

the Villa Farnesina

MAXXI

MACRO and MACRO Testaccio

Galleria Nazionale d’arte Moderna

Museum of Roman Civilization (in EUR)

Centrale Montemartini

Museum of the Walls

And I think with a few possible assists from other small institutions that will very nearly cover it. WHEW I’m tired already!

6 thoughts on “Museums in Rome: the warm-up, because there are a lot and I have a LOT of thoughts

Leave a Reply

