Oh the Vatican Museums. So Astonishing(ly terrible)

Laocoön!!
Laocoön!!

It probably surprises no one at this point that I would assert that the Vatican Museums are TERRIBLE. But before I get into the dozens and dozens of reasons why you should never ever go to there, let’s take a moment to appreciate the reasons why people do:

DAMN. Belivedere Torso. Wow.
DAMN. Belivedere Torso. Wow.
IMG_0899
Hey girl. (I mean Raphael’s Transfiguration)
And Caravaggio's Deposition. Ok, ok, I give. There's decent art there.
And Caravaggio’s Deposition. Ok, ok, I give. There’s decent art there.
Shit. Raphael's Stanze too. Jebus.
Shit. Raphael’s Stanze too. Jebus.
The Apollo Belivedere?!? This is getting overwhelming...
The Apollo Belivedere?!? This is getting overwhelming…

And oh yes, there’s that little room called the Sistine Chapel. Do you suppose people go to the Vatican Museums for that??? Maybe not, it’s probably only art history nerds like me that’ve heard of that one, right?

Oh Michelangelo, why do you gotta be so good?
Oh Michelangelo, why do you gotta be so good?

Laocoön is not impressed:

Crap. Masterpieces all.
Crap. Masterpieces all.

I suppose these are decent reasons to go the Vatican Museums. Maybe. Possibly. But you know what? Regardless of all these insane masterpieces and all the papal splendor, the Vatican Museums are terrible, number one on my world museums shit-list. And on Monday, I’ll tell you why. Happy weekend!

9 thoughts on “Oh the Vatican Museums. So Astonishing(ly terrible)

    1. There should be a way of only seeing the Sistine Chapel for those who are only interested in that. Most people are pretty surprised you have to walk through a museum for 2+ hours before getting to the Sistine Chapel.

  1. My own take on the place (albeit from over a decade ago) was there was a lack of organisation to the exhibits. But I loved it anyway. I am intrigued to read your Monday post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

